Unconventional news sources on Trump, Comey, and Chaffetz

Today, I thought I would stray from my usual news sources and read the most random one I could find: The Rickey Smiley Morning Show. I have never read this source before, and I even had to Google to find out who Rickey Smiley is, as I have heard of him before but I was not sure what I knew him from. As well, I found this article on Facebook as an embedded article in which someone’s status was their reaction to the situation. This is my perception on how many millennials get their news.

This article from Rickey Smiley details the events of Trump’s allegedly plea with former FBI director James Comey to drop his investigation on former national security adviser General Michael Flynn, who resigned earlier this year. The article claims, if these remarks are true, Trump has committed an obstruction of justice, which is an impeachable crime.

In the article from Rickey Smiley, my first reaction was to the subhead, which says “Can #45’s White House go one day without starting a dumpster fire? Apparently not.” First, this has nothing to do with the facts of the Trump/Comey/Flynn situation. As well, I was not sure why they were calling the President #45. I knew that he is the 45th President, yet I saw this as some sort of way to dehumanize him. There are right and wrong ways of portraying factual news, and this is the former.

As many contemporary media sources do, the inclusion of tweets provided insight as to what young people on the Internet are feelings about the situation. One tweet from House Oversight Committee Chair Jason Chaffetz stuck out. He claims he is “ready to subpoena a memo” that reveals the details between Comey and Trump’s conversation about Flynn.

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 2.27.28 PM

An article from the Huffington Post mentions this tweet specifically, in which the article’s hede is “Jason Chaffetz Says He’s ‘Ready’ to Subpoena James Comey Memo.” In a letter form Chaffetz to the acting FBI Director Andrew McCabe, he asked for any and all files relating to this case for investigation. By publishing this letter, Huff Post displays a similar outlook to the Rickey Smiley article but in a more ethical way. They do not patronize the President in any way, and their attempt to maintain journalistic integrity throughout their article is evident

Leave a Reply

